Skip to content ↓
In this section...

Students Winning the Diana Award

The Axholme Academy is delighted to announce that four Year 11 students Kirsten Carney, Charlotte Ellwood, Rachel Allen and Eleanor Fields have been publicly honoured with the Diana Award.

The Diana Award was established in 1999 as a lasting legacy to Diana, Princess of Wales’ belief that young people have the power to change the world.

The Award exists to celebrate young people who support others and strive to improve their communities.  38,000 inspirational young people have received the Diana Award for demonstrating the qualities associated with the late Princess – compassion and a selfless commitment to improving the lives of others.

The students were part of a Peer Mentoring team who made outstanding contributions to The Axholme Academy and North Lincolnshire Anti-Bullying programme. Kirsten and Charlotte completed specialised training as SEN Peer Mentors, supporting identified students. While Rachel and Eleanor specialised as Cyber mentors, promoting E Safely in schools.

The skills they developed allowed them to present their own presentations within the Local Authority’s Celebrations events.  Showing themselves to be excellent role models.

We at The Axholme Academy are extremely proud of the girls.  The Diana Award will encourage them to continue their work and will hopefully inspire others to stand up for their beliefs.

Tessy Ojo Executive Director of The Diana Award said: “The Diana Award is proud to recognise young campaigners, like Kirsten, Charlotte, Rachel and Eleanor who have had the confidence and courage to stand up for what they believe. 

Principal, Joe Sellars, said ‘the academy has established quite a tradition of students gaining this honour over the years since the Diana Award was introduced. These four girls are great students who have selflessly given many hours of their own time to support others and we are very proud of them’.

  • IMG_0062.JPG